You Think I’m Stupid

flowerp

You Think I’m Stupid

You think I’m stupid, and I don’t mind
There’s no need for you to know
That I’m very much aware
What would I gain
If you found out, I’m not insane
Just give you another way
To keep me locked with a ball and chain

You think I’m dumb, and I am fine
I don’t want you to know
That I’m with a sound mind
What would be the cost
If you realized
Just more chances to flood me
With all your follies and lies

Keep believing, yes please do
Cause I am stronger, when I play the fool
I’ll let you think
That I’m not wise
Cause I am stronger
When I keep you believing lies

©2017 C. A. Barnes

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Hi Crystal, great to be here and read your stuff again.
    This one sounds a little painful and personal. Like and ‘Ouch!’ Is this a fiction or real? I certainly hope there is no one thinking you are stupid.
    Have a lovely day, my friend.
    🙂 ❤

    Reply
    • Hi Staci, It’s always great to read your comments and they are appreciated. This poem was written based on my perception of how I felt people in my life see me. In reality, I am probably overthinking things. However, this poem rings true to how people have treated me in the past, so in my attempt to vent a little, a poem was born. I hope your day has been well 🙂

      Reply
      • Hi Crystal, well poetry is a great way to vent, don’t you think. I’m probably the biggest over-thinker in the world.
        Blessings to you.
        🙂 ❤

  2. Uhm, wow, this is stellar

    Reply

Leave a Reply

