Don’t Rush Time

22

Don’t Rush Time

I used to strive to race the speed of light
I used to dare it every single night
When I was a child
Oh, when I was a child
I used to drive myself insane
Over the very little crazy things
I used to want this and that
Be there now in no time flat
But I always came up short
Always feeling like a failure
Feeling poor, now I know
Oh, you can’t rush time
Sometimes it’s better to walk
The structured and cultivated road
To live life

I used to compare myself
To others’ delights
Always wondering what I did wrong
And what they did right
Oh, what they did right
I used to drive myself insane
Over the very little crazy things
I used to want this and that
Be there now in no time flat
But I always came up short
Always feeling like a failure
Feeling poor, now I know
Oh, you can’t rush time
Sometimes it’s better to walk
The structured and cultivated road
To live life

Oh, oh, oh
To live life
To see all it has to offer
To learn to fall down
Knowing each time will only
Make me stronger
Don’t rush time
Stop to see the sunshine
Don’t rush life

I used to drive myself insane
Over the very little crazy things
I used to want this and that
Be there now in no time flat
But I always came up short
Always feeling like a failure
Feeling poor, now I know
Oh, you can’t rush time
Sometimes it’s better to walk
The structured and cultivated road
To live life

© 2015 C.A. Barnes

***From The Beginning… Lyrical Poetry Collection, for sale on Writer’s Bounty (click here for more information and to purchase)

5 thoughts on “Don’t Rush Time

Leave a Reply

