Poetry Photo Book!

22

Earlier this May, I announced that I would be releasing a poetry photo book. I envisioned great things for this book and I can honestly say that I’m happy with the results. However this is not the first time I put together and release books for sale—when I started blogging in 2012 I released 2 poetry books on Amazon, which have long since been removed. But through that undertaking and even the current one, I learned that creating a book is just a third of the work. Getting it on sale pages and marketing is the rest, which seems to be the most challenging and the least fun.

Initially, I wanted to sell my book on Apple iBooks and Amazon. However, through Blurb, I can only sell a book on one site but not the others. If I want to do so, I have to create another version for each of the other sites. If I want to sell them as an e-book, I also have to convert them and pay for that conversion. To me, it just seems like a lot of work and extra costs for something I have yet to see how it will sell. I mainly want to share my book with those who are interested above anything else.

I wanted to sell e-book versions on Amazon and Apple ibooks, and not a physical copy (Amazon), since when I looked at the costs, the book became very expensive to sell on Amazon, with the costs being past $50.00 (this is without me getting any profit).

So, I have decided to sell the book on Blurb.com alone. At Blurb, you can see both versions (coffee table book and trade book) and preview the first 15 pages. Though there is no e-book version at the moment (I will work on that), there is a pdf version available.

On my new website, I will be posting 10 of the 40 poems featured in the book. This is to give readers an idea of the theme and content of the book, but also to allow those who wish to not or can’t purchase the book to see what I have put together.

With this all said, I invite you to check out the books on Blurb.com and if you are someone or know someone who enjoys poetry and is a collector of books, this just might be the perfect gift or something to have.

Thank you everyone for your feedback regarding this endeavor and support 🙂

***Update***

My poetry book is now on this website. Click here for more information.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

