Becoming Free

IMG_1912

Becoming Free

Time hasn’t let me down
All these years when I was
On the ground
With no hope
I didn’t know how to cope
I thought I could not be found

Sorrow, fear, regret, tears
Terrorized my life
It all left me with no choice
But to go searching
Until I found my voice

I’m becoming free
I can certainly see
Where I need to be
I’m becoming strong
I know where I belong
And I will get there definitely
It won’t be long…

Stagnant I surely was
I didn’t know where to go
I forgot all I’ve known
I was weak
My life was bleak
I lost me

Monsters, villains, enemies
Tried to keep me locked
Never to set me free
But I wasn’t going to make it easy
For them to succeed
Victory was for me

I’m becoming free
I can certainly see
Where I need to be
I’m becoming strong
I know where I belong
And I will get there definitely
It won’t be long…

It won’t be long
I can see the sun
Shining brighter than
I’ve ever known
I’m going to get there
I know my way home

© 2015 C.A. Barnes

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Crystal, I love the sense of hope there is in this poem. Wonderful.
    😀💕

    Reply
  2. The sense of inspiration in your post is amazing 🙂 Great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

