Book Review: Refining Fire By Tracie Peterson

Blurb:

Twenty-two-year-old Militine Scott is in training at the Madison Bridal School in Seattle, yet she has no intention of pursuing marriage. What respectable man would have her? But she has found the school provides the perfect opportunity to keep her unsavory past hidden.

Thane Patton, though fun-loving and fiercely loyal to his friends, hides a dark secret, as well. He finds himself drawn to Militine, sensing that she harbors a haunting pain similar to his own.

Will they allow God to make something new and beautiful from the debris of their past?

General Thoughts:

I’ve known about Tracie Peterson and her work. In fact, she came across to me as a very popular writer. After reading this story—the first from her, I can definitely see why she is a best selling author. This story was full of humor from start to finish. Though I cannot say that she intended this story to be full of humor, I believe it came out naturally through her main characters, especially from Abrianna Cunningham. The bluntness and boldness of Abrianna really made for some interesting and funny moments in the story when she confronted characters and situations.

Apart from all this, this story, based on the blurb, is about Militine and Thane. To be honest, I felt the story was not just about them, but also about Abrianna and Wade. All four of them are friends and throughout the story, they equally play significant parts. Abrianna had her own challenges and decisions to make, as well as Militine. To me, I was not disappointed by this and actually liked the balance of character roles. There was something to be learned from each of them. To be more specific, I feel each character had something about them that they struggled with, but in the end, it helped that they were open with each other as well as supportive. I especially like the messages of God’s love that was woven throughout the story—I think the author was good at getting them across.

Recommendation:

I would definitely recommend this story. For those who enjoy natural humor, this will be just what they’re looking for and one that they can’t put down.

Rating:

5 out of 5 stars. I couldn’t find anything negative with this story. I found myself laughing every time I read it.

***This book was given to me by Bethany House for an honest review.***

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Refining Fire By Tracie Peterson

Leave a Reply

