Slipping Away

flower

Slipping Away

Everything used to be fine
I lived in every moment, savoring time
Cause there was so much time
So much time
To enjoy life, to bask in each sight
There was a lot to do
And nothing to lose
Nothing to leave behind

But now, it’s all
Slipping away
I can’t make anything stay
No matter what I do or say
I don’t know what all of this means
I guess what life’s now telling me
It’s time to rearrange
It’s time to accept what needs to change

Back then, I was filled with hopes and dreams
I often contemplated what would be my fate
Oh I couldn’t wait
I found happiness in what was to come my way
Love abound, life around
Safe and sound
Health and vitality
Success, whatever that means…

But now, it’s all
Slipping away
I can’t make anything stay
No matter what I do or say
I don’t know what all of this means
I guess what life’s now telling me
It’s time to rearrange
It’s time to accept what needs to change

I need to let go
I need to face the future
And know
There are many uncertainties
Things, no matter how hard we try to
We just can’t see
We just can’t see…

Now, it’s all
Slipping away
I can’t make anything stay
No matter what I do or say
I don’t know what all of this means
I guess what life’s now telling me
It’s time to rearrange
It’s time to accept what needs to change

© 2015 C.A. Barnes

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Powerful Crystal. Time really does slip away so quickly. I am 41 yrs old and it’s just crazy how one all of a sudden starts remembering things like they were from yesterday.

    Reply
    • That is so true–even thinking about where I was or what I did a year ago seems like it occurred yesterday 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

