Monthly Update: May

Artist's Tools 4

Another month has flown by. Well, at least for me. This month, my blog posts slowed down a little because I started another job, which requires me to travel 4 hours in total each day. It may not make sense why I would take such a job that consumes basically my entire day and is 5 days a week, but it’s a temporary job that will last until October. And the assignment is ideal, which has always been a struggle for me when it comes to finding work.

So with that said, that is why my posts have been far and few in the last 2 weeks. I will make it my plan to post at least 2x a week for the summer, possibly posting on Mondays and Saturdays.

Another thing that did not come to pass this month was releasing my poetry book. On my April monthly update, I announced that I would be releasing a poetry book for sale in May. Getting a little ahead of myself, I did not anticipate the time I would need to get proofs, get them on selling platforms, and even develop a marketing plan. So upon realizing that, I knew I would need more time before actually posting them for sale. I now plan to release the book sometime in the summer.

At this point, I am sort of at a crossroads on where I want to go or how I want to market this poetry book. I definitely will create the books, but I’m also thinking about sharing some of the poetry on my blog. There are 7 of them that have been released before which I revised that I will most likely share, but I was thinking about releasing excerpts or portions of my favorite poems (as quotes) on my blog. Would that be a good idea?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Personally, anonymity prevents my interest from manifesting an investment. An example does more for my decision-making than recommendations or accolades.

    I see only benefits to sharing your writing and alluring through craft exposure; but I have never sold a book, and I’m not a regular creator or consumer for poetry. My opinion comes from outside your field, which may or may not negate my words.

    That said, best of luck with your book ^_^

    Reply
    • Thank you Gibble96 for your feedback 🙂 I do believe that examples are important and agree with your statement. That is why I’m leaning towards sharing some of my work from this book, especially for those who don’t know much about my poetry.

      Reply
  2. Hey Crystal. That’s great! You’re writing a poetry book? I want to do that some day too. I want to incorporate photography and mixed media with it as well. One day. Hmmmm. When I get more time. Anyhow, I think that’s a great idea to share some of the work. It’s a way to peak people’s interest. If they like the little they read, they’re more liable to purchase the whole book.
    Good for you. I can’t wait to see it when it’s done.
    🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Staci 🙂 I believe that it’s a good idea to share some of my work from the book, which I will do. I also look forward to seeing a book from you–I already enjoy the work and art from your blog!

      Reply
      • Awwww, thanks Crystal. I enjoy your blog too. And you have great poems. I don’t know when I’ll ever write a book, but we’ll see.
        🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

