I Can Only Be Me

Vintage Dots

I Can Only Be Me

I’m speaking the truth
I wish I was you
But I can’t you see
I can only be me

I wish I could live
I wish I could dream
I wish I could be
I wish I could see

I’m speaking the truth
I wish I was you
But I can’t you see
I can only be me

I wish I could smile
I wish I could fly
I wish I could dance
I wish I could have the chance

I’m speaking the truth
I wish I was you
But I can’t you see
I can only be me

I wish for all these things
I wish for the joy they bring
But not today
Perhaps tomorrow
At least that’s not far away…

© 2015 C.A. Barnes

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I know how this feels. And women are never totally satisfied with themselves. But it’s like you said, “I can only be me”.
    Great poem.
    😀

    Reply
    • That is very true stacilys. We must remember that at the end of the day we are at our best, when we’re ourselves.

      Reply
      • Oh yes, love it Crystal. When we’re ourselves we are our best. Authenticity all the way.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

