Only You

flowerp

Only You

Yesterday, I  strong
Nothing in this world could go wrong
Hope lived by my door
There wasn’t a thing to wish for

But today
So much has changed
I’ve lost control
I need to be whole

Only you
Could bring this back to me
Only you
Could mend my heart, and set me free
Only you
I believe
Only you

Yesterday, there was peace
The future was bright with certainty
Love was near
Life was here

But today
So many have went away
I’m filled with much fear
I can’t help but to shed tears

Only you
Could bring this back to me
Only you
Could mend my heart, and set me free
Only you
I believe
Only you

Only you
Can restore what was lost
Make things better, settle the costs
Make me stronger than before
Only you can give me so much more
Than I had before…

Only you
Can bring me peace
Heal a village, a nation
Set them free
Only you
Can mend my heart
Heal the pain, bring ones together
Who were once apart
Only you
Can show us love
Only you
Only you
Only you

© 2012 C. A. Barnes

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This is lovely. It reads like a song. I’m curious, who is this that you are writing about?
    🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you stacilys for the comment–very much appreciated. The one who I’m writing about is God–I like creating some sort of mystery behind it. I hope others will be able to figure this out 🙂

      Reply
      • I was wondering if it we God. Most of my stuff is too. If you don’t mind me asking, what is your faith/religion?
        😀

      • I’m Christian–thanks for asking stacilys. I also read a lot of your work and love it 🙂

      • Ohhh, I thought so. Me too. You also have great work, my friend. And thank you so much for reading and appreciating my little effort.
        Bless you.
        🙂 ❤

      • Thank you again stacilys–bless you too!

Leave a Reply

