A Poet Long Ago

Hidden Fruit

A Poet Long Ago

Doesn’t he sit beneath
The orchard trees
Doesn’t he write songs of
The glistening seas
He’s calm whenever he’s seen
His eyes tell a story
Too great to speak
Too great for me

Where has the days gone
Since I heard his songs
Where has the time past
Since I saw him last
He’s like none other
He’s a poet
Just like my grandfathers

Doesn’t he make one cry
When he stops by with a smile
Doesn’t he make one laugh
When he crosses paths
In a lazy afternoon
Well I do
Miss him so
How I long to visit him
Under the sunny glow
Like years ago

Where has the days gone
Since I heard his songs
Where has the time past
Since I saw him last
He’s like none other
He’s a poet
Just like my grandfathers

Doesn’t he make you laugh
Doesn’t he make you want to be
A poet too
And sing tales to others soon
To make them feel the way
You once felt too

Leave a Reply

