Book Review: Sabotaged By Dani Pettrey

Blurb:

Finally Returned Home, Reef McKeena 
Finds His Beloved Alaska Facing Its Greatest Threat



Growing up, goody-two-shoes Kirra Jacobs and troublemaker Reef McKenna were always at odds. Now, working together as search-and-rescue for Alaska’s arduous Iditarod race, a growing attraction seems to be forcing aside old arguments. Then Reef catches Kirra sneaking from camp in the middle of the night.

Kirra’s uncle, a musher in the race, has disappeared. Kirra and Reef quickly track the man, but what they discover is harrowing: Frank’s daughter has been kidnapped. Kirra and Reef, along with the entire McKenna family, are thrown into a race to stop a shadowy villain who is not only threatening a girl’s life–but appears willing to unleash one of the largest disasters Alaska has ever seen.

General Thoughts:

I like the plot of this story—how it played out more like a mystery case, but that was about it. What I didn’t like about the story was the characters—they weren’t believable to me. In general it was all of them, but I specifically had a problem connected with and liking the main characters, Reef and Kirra. I understand that they knew each other all their lives, but it seemed like their relationship progressed quickly and was forced, especially since it appeared that Kirra was not fond of Reef at the beginning of the story, but at the end she’s thinking about their future children. I don’t know, it may not be unrealistic, but I couldn’t stop thinking that it was.

Also, although I like the plot, I felt the sticky situations that Reef and Kirra found themselves in were not realistic. There were a couple of instances where the “bad guys” had them in their grasp, but somehow they were able to easily defeat and get away from them. I thought it would have been nice if there was a bit of challenge with them, especially since the “bad guys” were made to appear like they were ruthless and dangerous.

Lastly, I felt the story centered around Reef and Kirra’s growing relationship, which isn’t bad, but I would have like to see more closure with Frank and Meg, who also were the focal point of the story. Once the problem between them was solved, the reader never hears from them again. What happened with Frank after his injury? What happened with the mess he created? How about Meg? What happened with her after learning the truth about the people she associated with?

Recommendation:

Unfortunately, I wouldn’t recommend this story. The ending somehow felt incomplete to me, where Meg and Frank are concerned. Also, I had trouble believing that the characters were authentic. I felt their thoughts and actions were a little bit cliché.

Rating:

2.5 stars out of 5, due to the characters and incomplete ending.

***This book was given to me by Bethany House for an honest review.***

Leave a Reply

