I Can’t Let Go

IMG_1862

I Can’t Let Go

Let me hold on just a little bit longer
I can’t let go
Give me this moment before I grow somber
To hold on to what I still know
And believe
Since the days when I was a child
So wild and free
Before that child was told to hit the road
I can’t let go

Let me see the world as I once thought it was
I can’t let go
Where I traveled the ends of the earth
Seeing all its beauty, and
Being amused by its worth
On the days when I was a child
So bold, so brave
Until that child could no longer be saved
I can’t let go

I’m not ready to let go
May never will
Don’t think its a good idea
To keep the child buried within
Got to be free
Got to dream
That’s the only way to live
That’s the only way to be free
Got to be bold
I can’t let go

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

4 thoughts on “I Can’t Let Go

Leave a Reply

