Goodbye To Yesterday

My City Walkway

Goodbye To Yesterday

I say goodbye to yesterday
Living life in someone else’s way
I couldn’t find no happiness
No peace
No matter how much I toil and seek

I say goodbye to yesterday
Being directed every which way
Any way besides my way
I was but a number in others’
Great plans
My thoughts, strengths, gifts didn’t matter
No one cared to understand

I say goodbye to yesterday
As I open my eyes
And prepare to travel my way
Great places
New creations
Are yet to be seen
But when they are found
I’ll know what it’s like to be truly happy
Because the result of them
Was made possible because of me
Saying goodbye to yesterday
Choosing to travel my own way

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

7 thoughts on “Goodbye To Yesterday

Leave a Reply

