Breaking Free

blue twigs

Breaking Free

This old house, has brought silence with no end
Locked me in day and night
It brought comfort like a friend
I couldn’t face this world
Being me
I wouldn’t get far
So I became a shadow of me
But now I’m breaking free

This old world, has become my muse
Entertaining my life
But leaving me alone and confused
I didn’t know what to do
Who to be, where to go
How to choose
So I stopped in my tracks
Thought a while, and took a different path

Right now, I’m quiet as a mouse
Caged in this old world
Locked in this old house
Fighting to let go of this old
Shadow of me
That never let me live, let me breathe
Or let me be
I’m starting on a new path
One very different, so far, so vast
I’m breaking free
I’m breaking free
I’m breaking free

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

Leave a Reply

