In The Beginning

Rock Face 2

In The Beginning

In the beginning
There was loneliness, no light
In the beginning
There was emptiness, no life

I wanted to stay down
It was safer on the ground
I was used to the same solitude
Hopelessness was my muse

But I must keep going
But I must keep searching
For the end, for the end
I must keep trying
I must keep fighting
Till the bitter end, the bitter end

In the beginning
Rejection was around, no lie
In the beginning
Failure was all abound, but I tried

While I was still on the ground
It got bored staying down
While I was sunken in my grave
I found my strength, I became brave

I must keep going
I must keep searching
For the end, for the end
I must keep trying
I must keep fighting
Till the bitter end, the bitter end

In the beginning
I was small, I was scared
Nothing was there
To free me, to challenge
And let me see
Life beyond my reality
I must…
I must…

Keep going
Keep searching
For the end, for the end
I must keep trying
I must keep fighting
Till the bitter end, the bitter end

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

2 thoughts on “In The Beginning

Leave a Reply

