Barren Home

 

Tropics Real 2

Barren Home

I stand in the middle of my barren home
It used to be nice, it used to be beautiful
With lush greens and a garden of gardenias
I used to travel through this place, I used to envy this space
In a sea of evergreen trees swaying in the breeze
That guided my way throughout the day
The glow of the moon
Cast on trees that once was home to the great owl
As he sent out a loud long hoot
Telling me how far I roamed
Now it’s time for me to go home

I stand in the middle of my barren home
Where abundance once was everywhere
And there were lots of beauty to see and to share
Ruby red berries, sparkling clear waters
There’s no need to go farther from here
To find all these treasures
All for free, for you and me
They used to give so much comfort and ease
Telling me as the saying goes
There’s no place like home

I stand in the middle of my barren home
With crisp clean air
Lots of laughter, lots of smiles everywhere
A palette of colors for an artist at hand
And many a muse to draw from a hat
Simple sands
Detailed leaves
Watercolor skies
So much peace
Showing me the beauty of home

I stand in the middle of my barren home
Only dust and rain to be seen
Where did things go wrong
When did we forget about what existed
Long ago
The great and small
Now there’s nothing left at all
But a barren home

© 2013 C.A. Barnes

Leave a Reply

