It’s Gonna Find Me

lens

It’s Gonna Find Me

I can’t run forever
Can I hide, I think never
They’re gonna find–me

Can’t be quiet as a mouse
Can’t stay barred in this house
They’re gonna find–me

I tried to play the role so very well
I almost believed no one could tell
The creature deep inside
Raging, ready to ignite
I tried my best to play by their rules
But instead I looked like a fool
And I’m sure they could see
I was fiction–not really me

I can’t be still forever
Can I stay down, I think never
They’re gonna find–me

Can’t be mute as mouse
Can’t stay lost in this house
They’re gonna find–me

I tried to play the role so very well
I almost believed no one could tell
The creature deep inside
Raging, ready to ignite
I tried my best to play by their rules
But instead I looked like a fool
And I’m sure they could see
I was fiction–not really me

It’s gonna find me
They’re gonna find me
It’s already haunting me
In my dreams, awake, or sleep
I can’t find an ounce of peace
I need to let it go
To find relief
It’s all that I have
Left of me
And soon enough
The time will come
When it finds
Cause it’s gonna find
It’s gonna find
It’s gonna find–me

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sounds like the hunt is on.
    Leslie

    Reply
  2. I’m always so inspired to try my hand at writing poetry after reading your amazing work!

    Reply
    • barn7777

       /  July 18, 2014

      That’s great to hear my work is inspiring you!!! Definitely try writing poetry–I’m sure you will be good at it as you are with your stories 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

