Won’t Let Go

watercolor ropes

Won’t Let Go

I know the seas are raging all around me
Desensitized out of my mind, nothing surprises me
The world tries so hard to make me feel that
I’m all alone
The world tries so hard to twist my path
With all its wrath
Till I can’t find my way home
Still I won’t let go

I know all they see is misery, beyond belief
Sorrow is my life, how I survived, I’ll never realize
The world tries so hard to take my mind, define
Who I am
The world tries so hard to foil my plans, but
I’ll take my stand
And won’t let go

No I must take
My stand, as the world tries to keep me alone
It says I have no home and no I refuse to believe
That I can’t find freedom and peace
No I won’t let go of what’s inside of me

I won’t let go.

© 2014 C. A. Barnes

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. We all should hang on, it’s worth the fight.
    Leslie

    Reply
  2. See what I mean? You CANNOT write a bad poem. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Very motivating, there are days when I just need to push onwards as well! Great poem 🙂

    Reply
    • barn7777

       /  July 7, 2014

      That is so true–I was hoping to write a poem that be fitting for those days–thanks Harliqueen!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

