Trinket Box

Tinkets

Trinket Box

Stolen gifts, frozen in time
I see a little child, full of surprise
How can this small child be
So happy in the midst of misery
She’s kept it close
To her heart
The trinket box
That holds the best part:

Times so simple, times so plain
When she saw beauty in the rain
When she saw beauty in everything
How I wish I could be her again…

I return to that place
This time everything has changed
The little child is now erased
Can there still be beauty in the rain
Can there still be beauty in everything
I must find
The trinket box
When I do
I’ll hold it close to my heart
And I will never let it part

© 2005 C.A. Barnes

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. A beautiful poem, it flowed really nicely and added to the feel 🙂

    Reply
  2. barn7777

     /  June 8, 2014

    As always, thank you Harliqueen for your comment and support!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

