It’s Done

IMG_1368

It’s Done

I had it all once upon a time
I couldn’t wait for the day
To bask in the warm sunshine
Being brave–why, I never feared the word
It was just something I did
That’s just how I lived.

But that was long ago
Before life hit me in the face
That was way before
The setting of the sun
Now it’s done
Now it’s done
It’s gone
I best move on

I was free once upon a time
Making my adventures through
The city or the woods
Any place for me was right
Being strong–that wasn’t unseen
That was just simply, the way to be.

But that was long ago
Before reality hit me in the face
That was way before
The setting of the sun
Now it’s done
Now it’s done
It’s gone
I best move on

How can I get back
Can I ever get back
Can I at least try
To ignite the child
The dreamer, so full of life
How can I get back
Can I ever get back
Can I fight, why not try
After all,
I only have this one life…

Long ago
Before reality made it to the show
I was free, I believed
That I could be anything
Is it done
Is it done
Is it gone
I want it back
So I best move on

© 2014 C.A. Barnes

4 thoughts on “It’s Done

    1. I know Harliqueen and I believe that we can do so if we choose to–at least that is what I am trying to do 🙂 Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

