Pushing Through

jungle

Pushing Through

Garnets, olives, and yellow golds
Displayed on an unpredictable floor
Scratches and scrapes cling on my skin
But I couldn’t care more
Needles and blades, stones and knives
Threatened my peace at every side
But what they tried to inhibit
Needs to be free—that’s what I seek

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

Glossy big marbles of pale brown and grey
Glittered over a shimmering sea of rain
Monsters and ghouls play hide and seek
But I wasn’t entertained
Yellow sun as a guardian, warm and bright
Protected my way every day with light
Gave me a promise no one can debate
I dare say

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

Wayward the travel became
Full of discovery, full of much shame
But through it all, I became brave
In the fields, forests, and caves
I’ll be pushing through

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

© 2013 C. A. Barnes

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. A very motivating poem 🙂

    Reply
    • barn7777

       /  April 29, 2014

      Thank you Harliqueen–that is the message I wanted to convey in my poem and I’m glad you found it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

