Please Come Back To Me

watercolor petals

Please Come Back To Me

It seems like I’m a withered vine
Like a dead branch on a tree
Who has already lived, already seen
What this life holds for me
I’ve been gone, for too long
Do you still believe in me

I wondered if you thought I was still alive
In this big wide world
Did I have a place, did I survive
I’ve been quiet for a while, again
I’ve abandoned you, like so many friends

Where are you, please come back to me
Where are you, please reassure me
That this life can be more than just a dream
Give me this one time
I know this is the last time
To make things right
I know this is the last time
To make things right

The wind I bring to you, is so cold
It must have been made of winter’s snow
There has been no comfort, I’ve given you
I don’t blame you for wanting to
Hide away soon, from me
Oh but I beg you not to leave

Please remember who I am, who I was
I fell down the wrong road, but I learn so much
My God he taught me well
Of what happens when we let our faith dwell
Now I’m okay, I’m okay
I’ve stepped out of the rain

Where are you, please come back to me
Where are you, please reassure me
That this life can be more than just a dream
Give me this one time
I know this is the last time
To make things right
I know this is the last time
To make things right

I know this is the last time…
So I’m going to try, with all my might
This is all I have left, so I will give it my all
I believe, I can heed the call
Please come back to me

© 2012 C. A. Barnes

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love this! Perfect lyrics to a future song even 🙂

    Reply
  2. What a lovely, emotional poem, got the real sense of feeling in this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

