Am I All Alone

Am I Alone

I’ve called out to you, in the darkest times
You’ve must have reached out a hand
But I never saw it, I don’t understand
Why it’s not sinking through
Why after all these years
I still struggle to find the truth
I still struggle to find you

I wonder
Am I really all alone
Will I be forever lost
No matter where I go
You can speak to me
You can call my name
But the results, will they still
Be the same
I can’t hear you
I can’t see you
Nothing’s changed
Am I all alone
Really, all alone

People all around want me to stay this way
Pretending to be happy in my common
And barren state
They want to confuse me
Spin my mind around
So that I never…ever
Leave the ground

I wonder
Am I really all alone
Will I be forever lost
No matter where I go
You can speak to me
You can call my name
But the results, will they still
Be the same
I can’t hear you
I can’t see you
Nothing’s changed
Am I all alone
Really, all alone

Please, I beg you, rescue me
Take me away, to another place
I promise, I’ll open my eyes
My ears, my mind
I need to get away
I need a change
Not tomorrow or someday
Right now…today

I wonder
Am I really all alone
Will I be forever lost
No matter where I go
You can speak to me
You can call my name
But the results, will they still
Be the same
I can’t hear you
I can’t see you
Nothing’s changed
Am I all alone
Really, all alone

© 2014 C. A. Barnes

6 thoughts on “Am I All Alone

Leave a Reply

