Pushing Through

blue twigs

I wrote this song in my pursuit to focus on imagery. To me, this is different from object imagery, in that, what is being described or discuss in this lyrical poem is not necessarily the topic of the poem. In this poem, what is being described primarily is a forest, but the forest is a metaphor for what I am trying to say. Not only is the forest being described and exaggerated with metaphor, the forest is symbolic for life–a life full of  twists and turns, obstacles and road blocks, predictable and unpredictable situations, in which one must push through, overcome them, and not be afraid to face them.

Pushing Through

Garnets, olives, and yellow gold
Displayed on an unpredictable floor
Scratches and scrapes cling on my skin
But I couldn’t care more.
Needles and blades, stones, and knives
Threatened my peace at every side
What they tried to imprison
Needs to be free–that’s what I seek.

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

Glossy big marbles of muted brown and grey
Glitter over a sparkling sea of rain
Monsters and ghouls play hide and seek
But I’m not entertained.
Sun as my guardian, warm and bright
Protected my way until the night
Gave me a promise no one could debate
I dare say.

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

Wayward the travel became
Full of discovery, full of much shame
But through it all, I became brave
In the fields, forests, and caves
I’ll be pushing through

Pushing through
There’s nothing to discourage me
Patiently, anxiously, fearlessly
Pushing through
That’s what I must do

© 2013 C. A. Barnes

2 thoughts on “Pushing Through

Leave a Reply

