For The Rest Of Us

Blue Tree

For The Rest Of Us

I don’t mind taking the long road
As long as I know it’s leading me home
To the right place
Where I can feel the wind of peace on my face
Oh, I don’t mind it I get there at night
In the morning or by the noontime
Cause I know I’ll get there soon
And when I do, I’ll be fine…

I don’t mind gathering treasures one by one
All by myself toiling daily until I’m done
Sometimes I feel things are better that way
Doing things on your terms, in your own place
Oh, I don’t mind when my work is done
In the morning or after the day’s sun
Is gone
Cause I know there’s still a lot to be won

For the rest of us
Who have learned to trust
In the faith, given to us
For the rest of us
Who learned to walk
Alone, but know
Eventually we will find
One another
We will find
Our home…

I don’t mind standing in the rain
Deep in cold bitter snow and dark terrain
I am protected, I have a light
Shining brightly, for me to see
So terrors
Stay out of my way, don’t bump into me
Please let me be…

I don’t mind who doubts me, or tries to put me down
I am solid, like a rock, I won’t stumble to the ground
I’ve been around long enough to know
That the only enemy, the danger that’s here and out there
Are the ones I choose to hold
So I am free, my hands stretch out
I have let them go

The rest of us
Have learn to trust
In the faith, given to us
The rest of us
Have learned to walk
Alone, but know
Eventually we will find
One another
We will find
Our home…

© 2013 C.A. Barnes

Leave a Reply

