A Better World

Vintage Daisies

A Better World

See her hands, they are just like mine
Dry and tired, needing a mend, but
Stronger than mine
See her eyes, red as the fire of the sun
Tears hasn’t let them dry, still searching
For a day to be won

And no, no I say
I can’t do anything to change
Her place
Look at me
Struggling too
But, I know the truth

Could I let, go of it all
Be the one, who takes the call
Letting go, sacrificing all
To be one of His creatures, great and small
Could not only I, but others too
Stand up and show, love that’s true
Is what we prize, more than material worth
Can what we prize be for, a better world

One hundred days, or one hundred years
Still this women would have seen
Her greatest fears
Sickly children, and lost hope
Impoverished homes, and impoverished souls

People come and people go
Promising unfulfilled hope
They got the answer
I know they do
We, all know the truth

Could I let, go of it all
Be the one, who takes the call
Letting go, sacrificing all
To be one of His creatures, great and small
Could not only I, but others too
Stand up and show, love that’s true
Is what we prize, more than material worth
Can what we prize be for, a better world

Be for a better world
A better world
Be for a better world
A better world

Could I let, go of it all
Be the one, who takes the call
Letting go, sacrificing all
To be one of His creatures, great and small
Could not only I, but others too
Stand up and show, love that’s true
Is what we prize, more than material worth
Can what we prize be for, a better world

© 2012 C.A. Barnes

Leave a Reply

