Inspiration

dots wash

This lyrical poetry was inspired from a lack of inspiration. From time to time, I find myself in a tired or lazy state, maybe both. The combination of the two results in my lack of inspiration. However, sometimes new works can come out of nothing—when you feel you have nothing to create. This lyrical poetry is more like an emotional based metaphorical song—it is not based on a particular object. I tend to write a lot of lyrical poetry like this. In this piece, I treat the non objective thing, inspiration, almost like an object. It is like I am speaking to it, asking why it has left, while at the same time, reminiscing on what life was like when it was around, when it existed.

Inspiration

It’s trying to get away…it’s trying to run away
From me, from here
And it’s not alone, it’s brought a friend
To help it out, cause it’s pulling me down
To the ground, I’m not free
I have no energy
Why are you trying to leave

There is no inspiration for me
It was here the other day
Even when the world was cold and grey
It kept me company
We were soaring, we were free

I decided to go for a walk today…in the sun with its warm rays
I traveled high, I traveled low
I didn’t know where to go, but I was in search to behold
Something that has been hard to grasp
Something that slipped from my hands
It took my energy
Why did it leave

There is no inspiration for me
It was here the other day
Even when the world was cold and grey
It kept me company
We were soaring, we were free

I remember the days
Where light filled this place
I could do anything, the world was free
I was free to believe, to be me
How did it go, when, I really don’t know
But somehow I must find it
Somehow I need to hold

This inspiration that was once inside me
It was here, I believed
I would always have it in my soul
Never to let it go
Even when the world was cold and grey
I kept me company, everyday
We were soaring, we were free
We were soaring, we were free

© 2013 C.A. Barnes

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love this poem, especially the emotion behind it. As someone with my own literary blog, I indeed find “Inspiration” inspiring!

    Reply
    • barn7777

       /  January 15, 2014

      Thank you theparisreviewblog! I’m so happy you find this inspiring–that is my hope 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

